Innovative approach to power-sharing unveiled

The Leader of Folkestone & Hythe District Council will implement an innovative and new cross-party Cabinet from 1 February 2020.

F&HDC logo

This pioneering approach will give political parties an opportunity to be represented on the Cabinet, giving them direct involvement in executive decision-making.

In practice, this means the leaders of the Green and Liberal Democrats groups will take up seats on Cabinet alongside Conservative and UKIP colleagues and hold portfolios of their own.

These councillors are not subject to Cabinet collective responsibility, if they have voted against something in Cabinet. This arrangement will mean these members can continue to maintain their distinct identities as political group leaders.

Leader of Folkestone & Hythe District Council and Leader of the Conservative group, Cllr David Monk, said: "I'm delighted that two of my fellow party leaders have elected to take up my invitation to join Cabinet.

"While the Labour Group is still in consultation about joining, I am looking forward to all groups forming part of my cabinet and transposing the success of our cross-party working groups to a Cabinet setting. We're all working for a bright and prosperous future for our district and residents.

"I'm confident that together we can make even better progress towards this goal."

The members of Cabinet and their portfolios will be as follows:

Cllr David Monk (Con) - Leader of the Council

Cllr Jenny Hollingsbee (Con) - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Communities

Cllr David Godfrey (Con) - Cabinet Member for Housing, Transport and Special Projects

Cllr Stuart Peall (Con) - Cabinet Member for Enforcement, Regulatory Services, Waste and Building Control

Cllr John Collier (Con) - Cabinet Member for Property Management and Grounds Maintenance

Cllr Ian Meyers (UKIP) - Cabinet Member for Digital Transformation and Customer Service

Cllr David Wimble (Independent) - Cabinet Member for the District Economy

Cllr Lesley Whybrow (Green) - Cabinet Member for the Environment

Cllr Tim Prater (Lib Dem) - Cabinet Member for Revenues, Benefits, Anti-Fraud and Corruption

More information about councillors and their responsibilities can be found at:  

Date published: 30 January 2020

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email


Print this page