Click here to find out about the changes to our waste collection service

The Chairman and Civic Office

The Chairman of Folkestone & Hythe District Council is elected every year by the full council, chairs council meetings and represents the district at events. The Civic Office looks after the Chairman's affairs


Our current Chairman is Councillor Philip Martin and the current Vice-Chairman is Councillor Tony Hills.

Incumbent Chairman and Vice Chairman

Phillip Martin

Tony Hills

Invite the Chairman to an event

Complete the engagement form and send it to the Chairman's PA along with your invitation. Please give an arrival time 5 minutes before the function starts.

The Chairman's PA will reply to you when we have received the invitation.

Icon for pdf Chairman Engagement Form [101.78KB]

If the Chairman attends your event

Before the event

Send a copy of any toast list or agenda for the event, plus any relevant background information, to the Chairman's Secretary as soon as possible, and no later than five days before the event. The Chairman's toast and reply, if required, should appear early on the toast list.

You should also tell the Chairman's Secretary in advance about:

  • parking facilities
  • what time the event is due to end

During the event

You should follow the correct etiquette when the Chairman attends your event.

The Chairman has precedence over everybody in the district. The only exceptions are royalty and Her Majesty's Deputy, the Lord Lieutenant of Kent. Precedence should be noted when asking the Chairman and other guests to perform duties.

The Chairman and escort should be met immediately upon arrival by a responsible person (preferably the event organiser), who should escort them to meet their host.

Seat the Chairman on the immediate right of the host and acknowledge the Chairman first in speeches, unless royalty or the Lord Lieutenant of Kent are present.

Addressing the Chairman and Vice-Chairman


  • address them as 'Chairman' and 'Vice-Chairman'


  • address them as 'Councillor (...), Chairman/Vice-Chairman, Folkestone & Hythe District Council'.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email


Print this page